Monday, March 21, 2011

Walker's budget hurts Washington County.

How the four-county area fares under budget - JSOnline

According to the fiscal bureau, the maximum 50% cut would fall on Waukesha, Ozaukee and Washington counties, and on 57 municipalities within the four-county region, including Waukesha and Wauwatosa. Within Milwaukee County, smaller reductions would be limited to less-affluent communities - Milwaukee, Cudahy, St. Francis, South Milwaukee, West Allis and West Milwaukee - except for a 35% cut to wealthy River Hills.

All area governments together would lose $29.8 million, administration figures show. The suburbs and suburban counties would take 11% of the statewide reduction, even though they only account for 5% of shared revenue payments now. By contrast, Milwaukee and Milwaukee County now receive 34% of state shared revenue, but would account for 20% of the statewide reduction.

No comments: